Luggage, Layovers, & Lavazza

Ciao from beautiful Venice!

bridge

After a very long day of travel Mr. M and I are finally in Venice! And what a beautiful city it is!

Our journey thus far…

Fun fact: Venice doesn’t have an international airport so it’s impossible to get a direct flight from the U.S. Now, I don’t know about you but I’m not a huge fan of flights with layovers, especially after a seven and half hour flight! But, you gotta do what you gotta do, so connection via Rome it was!

Our plane landed in Roma this morning at 9:10 a.m. (3:10 a.m. EST). Our flight to Venice departed exactly 55 minutes later, and even though I know better, even though I knew it wasn’t going to be enough time, I booked it anyway. What can I say? I like a challenge!

It was mayhem today running through the Leonardo da Vinci airport going through customs, trying to check-in for our outgoing flight (on a different airline no less) and find our terminal. The lady at Alitalia actually scolded us and told us to go “Quickly! Quickly!” because our  plane was in the final boarding stage.

We took off running through the airport (a la Home Alone) BUT we made with a few minutes to spare!  A short hour later our plane touched down in a cool, dreary Venice. We welcomed the crisp bite of the air and the misty drizzle on our skin after hours of being cooped up in a plane. A short walk to the pier and a 110 € water taxi ride later (Are you thinking what I’m thinking? 110 € for a taxi?!), we finally arrived at our flat; grimy, hungry, and exhausted, but freaking ecstatic because…well, we are in VENICE!

After a quick nap and shower we explored a bit of the city. Mr. M’s first purchase? A Lavazza cappuccino that he claims (and I quote) was “one of the best” cappuccinos he’s ever had.

Tomorrow we plan to explore the Grand Canal and the Rialto Bridge. I promise to tell you all more about the cool and interesting things I’m learning/seeing (like, there are masks everywhere. Seriously, everywhere! And there’s a HUGE masquerade ball on Feb. 17th that seems straight out of a fairy tale!) but I’m exhausted and nearly falling asleep as I type.

For now, I’ll leave you all with some pictures. Until tomorrow, buona notte 😴

img_6605
One of the many side alleys in Venice
img_6609
Drink up: Coke & a Spritz!
img_6610
My dinner: Four Cheese Gnocchi
img_6611
Mr. M’s Dinner: Spinach & Ricotta Ravioli
img_6600
Inside the water taxi
img_6595
Our water taxi
img_6621
Outdoor trattoria
img_6624
View of the canal where our flat is located
Leave a Reply

