Marvelous Murano

Hi all! I’m back with an update of our Venice adventure, day two!

We had an amazing weather day to walk about the town.  Okay maybe not great by most people’s standards but for us it was perfect 🙂  The air was cool and the skies were overcast, the temperature a mere 60 degrees—ideal for walking around and exploring the city!

We started the day by purchasing Vaporetto travel cards.  The Vaporetto is the Venetian equivalent of the metro system. At first it’s a bit tricky; there are multiple lines and many of the stops are eliminated if the docking pier is unavailable (we were kicked off four stops before our  intended departure point and were kindly told to finish our journey “by foot”). BUT it’s the cheapest way to get to the surrounding islands of Murano, Burano, and Torcello.

Tip for anyone planning on visiting Venice: Purchase a Tourist Travel Card. You can buy them in increments of 24, 36, 48 hrs. etc and are far cheaper than a single use card (7 € one way!)

We planned on seeing all three islands in one day (silly tourists!) but only made it as far as Murano. It took us longer than expected to arrive to the island and when we finally got there it was  so cool that we stayed a lot longer than we anticipated.

Do you know anything about Murano glass? To be honest going in I didn’t know much about it, other than it’s a really expensive, handmade glass indigenous to the island. But today we got to see a glass blowing demonstration, learned how they add different chemicals to the glass during the blowing process to add color (it’s seriously like a chemistry lesson!),  saw several different techniques on how the molten glass is shaped, and learned how the cooling process takes a minimum of twenty-four period to avoid cracks.

There were a few factories open for tours (we went in two) and tons of shops selling every glass product imaginable. And you know what? I wanted to buy it ALL!

It’s sooooooo freaking beautiful! Vases, hand cut glasses, chandeliers, dishes, you name it, they sell it. Sadly I don’t have any pictures of the actual glasswork since the artists have a strict no photography policy in place, but I do have some pics from the island itself and will post them below 🙂

I promised myself I’d be good on this trip. No buying stuff you don’t need, I warned. You don’t use half of what you have now. But all of that went out the window the moment I stepped foot on that island! I couldn’t seem to stop myself from going in every shop. EVERY. ONE. Mr. M smiled and indulged me every time I murmured, “Do you mind if we check out this store?”

I was on a mission for the perfect lampshade. Not really a lampshade, but a hanging light figure, something like the picture (middle one!) below…

lite-line-pic2

I had it my mind (still do!) that I needed one of these light fixtures for our new house to hang over the kitchen island. “I know it’s a lot of money,” I told Mr. M, “but just think, every time we see it we’ll be reminded of our time in Venice!”

So we perused all the stores, looked at all of the beautiful lights, and then…we spotted it. It was perfect —square, outlined in black which would go perfectly with our countertops, but funky enough with it’s multi colored cube splotches. We both agreed; this is the one.

We chatted with the shop owner, made sure the light was compatible with U.S. wiring, and I even bartered, knocking 70 € off the price!  The  owner disassembled the fixture (it was two pieces). Painstakingly, carefully he packed Piece One with tissue paper and bubble wrap. On to Piece Two, same procedure: tissue paper and bubble wrap. Only this time as he set the piece onto the bubble wrap and began to turn it we heard a telltale crack. I looked to Mr. M. Je looked at me and then the shop owner, and then the words:
“Il roto.” 

It’s broken.

My heart sank as the owner carelessly unwrapped, then  tossed away my beautiful shade.

“Il roto. Sorry.” He repeated with rueful expression.

We smiled politely—accidents happen and we understood— but I was bummed! In a moment of desperation I actually considered asking the man, “Can you sell it to me anyway? I’m sure I could glue it.” But I dismissed the idea because Mr. M reminded me that it’s a lamp shade and will get hot, and really, did I want a broken, glued together lamp shade front in center in our kitchen in our new house? I don’t care my inner child whined, but I knew he had a point.

So, the moral of the story is, no lamp shade for me! But I did get a really cool glass pen (I’d post a pic but it’s all wrapped up!) that I plan to use to sign my books. If anyone wants a signed paperback let me know —I’m dying to break it in 😉

I know I’m rambling on, so I’ll finish here, but just wanted to mention the Rialto Bridge where we ended the evening. The Rialto Bridge is the most popular bridge on the main canal and probably all of Venice. It’s iconic—it’s covered, lined with shops, and a popular spot to see gondoliers. When Mr. M and I were first dating we watched a travel show on Italy. From this show is where I first heard about the legend of the Rialto Bridge. The legend is this: If you and your significant other kiss under the bridge your love will last a lifetime.

For years I though this legend was so cool (and romantic ❤️ ) and one of the reasons I always wanted to go to Venice with Mr. M. When we were planning our trip and I mentioned this legend he had no recollection of the TV show or the legend! We went there tonight (pics below) and kissed on top of the bridge… it’s not exactly the same but I figured it gotta count for something, right? 😉

murano
Island of Murano
blue-boat-murano
Another shot of Murano
glass-star
Beautiful glass star made of Murano glass
rialto-1
Il Ponte di Rialto
rialto-bridge-2
And another one 🙂
rialto-pier-2
Rialto Pier
rialto-pier
Restaurants along the Rialto Pier
juss-dinner
And because I love food pics…my dinner, Caprese Salad
joe-dinner
Mr. M’s dinner: Pasta Bolognese
joe-coffee
Mr. M’s coffee 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

