Five for Friday # 2

 

 

Welcome back to Five for Friday, Round # 2

Spring is finally here (yay!) and while there still may be snow on the ground in  Pennsylvania I’m smiling because it will be flip-flop weather soon 🙂

Okay so here’s a run-down of my week:

1.) Is anyone else getting an annoying amount of ADS for Mahabis? No? I’m the only one??? Seriously?! For the past week (maybe a bit longer)their ADS have been popping up everywhere…from my Facebook feed to Twitter to Pinterest to Instagram! I can’t help but think that the universe is trying to tell me something, like maybe I really need these slippers in my life 😊 . I think I’m falling victim to their marketing  tactics because I found myself clicking on their website and shopping around. They’re wearing me down, man! I  *almost* purchased a pair before I came to my senses and gave myself a stern talking to. The conversation went something like this: CJ, they’re slippers! Yes, but… They’re ninety-eight freakin’ dollars!!! Do not buy them!

I bowed my head and closed the browser. But hey, maybe I’m the one missing out here…anyone own a pair and can let me know?

Mahabis-Slippers-1 2

 

2.) Avocado Toast is everything. I first had avocado toast while vacationing in Edinburgh last summer. I love avocados but was skeptical of eating it on toast—don’t ask why, I’m weird like that—but that all changed the second I tasted the most amazing, delicious, tasty, crunchy, oh-so-good toast in the world. One bite and I was hooked and I’ve done my best to duplicate the Scottish version.

I usually make this on the weekends (during the week I don’t have time to sit and eat breakfast so I typically grab a smoothie on the way out the door).
Here’s the recipe:

  • 2 slices of sour dough bread, toasted
  • 1 ripe, avocado, pitted and sliced
  • Sun-dried tomato spread
  • Mix equal amounts: chia seeds, sesame seeds, red hot pepper flakes, and crushed sea salt (sprinkle over toast)

fullsizeoutput_1463

P.S. Also pictured is another absolute obsession of mine – Honest T: Moroccan Green Mint…seriously it’s the BEST tea ever but I think I’ll save rambling on about it for another post 🙂

3.) This picture:

9aa86abfbea58cee337851c9044c4a9e 2

I pinned this picture the other day on Pinterest and I’m still thinking about it. Even though it’s such a simple photo I absolutely love its meaning. Reading (and writing!) takes you on a magical adventure (sorry this sounds so corny, but it’s true 😊 )to explore new worlds and cultures, it shifts perspectives, broadens the mind…it’s like traveling while curled up on the couch with your favorite blanket. It’s perfection.

4.) My deadline is approaching for current WIP: Forever Hearts (May 1st) and I’m nowhere close to being done. Current work count = 28,729 *hangs head in shame*

But in my defense I do my best work under pressure; I need  a deadline. That being said I see a lot of late nights in my near future!!!

P.S. I really, really want to share my “blurb” but I’m still tweaking it. I will soon, as in next week soon. I promise!  <– See, I told you I need a deadline 🙂

5.)  Mr. M and I purchased Fitbits (I know, we’re really late to the party) and I’ve become borderline obsessed with checking my heart rate. My resting heart is rate low (typically in the 60-65 range bpm range) but the second I start doing anything physical it shoots up… a lot (90 bpm or higher). It comes down fairly quickly but still it kind of freaks me out…like am I going to die or something? It’s probably  just a sign that I need to more physical exercise and less sitting. But then again, I’m sure it’s fine 😉

There are so many different types of Fitbits. Based on a friend’s recommendation we got the FitBit Charge 2:

2689557_Rose_Gold

 

It’s pretty, but I’m not a huge watch/bracelet person so it’s been an adjustment wearing it all of the time.

Until next time here’ a super cute puppy to make you smile:

3fbd4b05780b955736f13a68a6ef4dba

P.S. You’re welcome for getting that song stuck in your head 🤣

❤ CJ

Leave a Reply

