Five for Friday # 3

Another week has come and gone. Most Fridays I’m caught somewhere between “Where the hell did the week go?” and “Thank God it’s Friday!”

Here’s a recap of what’s been up in my world 🙂

1.) Dieting Issues: I decided that March was going to be the month that I cleaned up my diet. No more junk food, no more chocolate 😥, no more eating out…basically no more fun. And guess what? I did really well for the first twelve days. Then, I fell off the wagon one night, which snowballed into the next day and then the next. Now here we are March 31st and there’s been little to no progress on Mission: Lose Ten Pounds by Summer. But seriously, why does dieting have to be so freaking hard?! I heard analogy about dieting many years ago that I think sums it up perfectly: “Dieting is like masturbating…it gets the job done but it’s not as satisfying.” #Facts

2.) I attended a “TA Talk” at a local university this past Wednesday. Essentially it’s a free workshop that features The Fulbright Exchange teaching assistants who have worked at college the past school year. Mr. M and I attend every year; it’s so interesting to hear about education in other countries, different value systems, foods, language, etc.
Interesting fact: One TA was from Nepal and to say “hello” or “goodbye” in Nepali is the expression”namaste”. Being a yoga instructor (and huge yogi!) I was super excited to learn this 🙂

Side note: If you’re not familiar with The Fulbright Exchange it’s an incredible, federally-funded exchange program for teachers and/or graduate students seeking advanced placement within certain fields.  You can read more about it here –> Fulbright Exchange

fulbright_logo

3.) I’m not much of a TV watcher but I started watching The Arrangement on the E! Network.  Anyone else watching it? The premise of the show is that a no-name Hollywood actress is hired to be the fiancée of an A-list celebrity. who recently went through a very public breakup. There’s a lot of back story – the A lister is a bit closed off and belongs to some spiritual cult (for lack of a better word) and the no-name actress has her own secrets.  I can’t decide if I love it or hate it but every week I tune in to see what happens so I guess I’m lovin’ it 🙂

4.) I’m a closet nerd (okay, maybe not so closet 😂) and I love learning the origin of sayings that we use in modern language. Take the expression “caught red-handed” for example. A co-worker and I recently got into a discussion about this phrase. I thought it had to do with fire alarms; supposedly there’s dye inside of them that ruptures when pulled and therefore can (potentially) identify the person who pulled the alarm. I’ve never researched this though, so this theory could be complete myth. 🙂

My co-worker claimed it had something to do with bank bags; a dye pack is placed inside a bank bag (during a robbery, for example) and then can later be triggered using a remote, wireless device. The dye pack ruptures and coats the bills with ink (I’m not sure if it’s visible or not) and makes the bills easily identifiable to authorities.

But those two interesting theories aside, Google tells us that the true origin of the expression “caught red-handed” dates back to 15th century Scotland and refers to someone who is (quite literally) red-handed due to blood from either murder or poaching. Who knew?

5.) Friday night is pizza night in our house. As far back as I can remember Friday nights were always pizza night. My family would order a pizza and my older sister and I would each pick out a movie to rent at Blockbuster…those were the days!

Mr. M and I still do this; Friday nights are our time to relax, eat some pizza, and watch Shark Tank. #LifeOfTheParty

Speaking of which…it’s time for dinner!

Until next time friends…

Hakuna Matata

16-funniest-photos-this-week-34

Leave a Reply

